Patriot Pictures

Stars and Stripes © Eliot J. Grigo

Stars and Stripes © Eliot J. Grigo

A short poem I wrote in honor of Memorial Day. Regardless of how much I disagree with war, and the pain and death that it causes, I can never disregard the men who sacrificed their lives for their belief in this country, that I live in today.

I felt the sun on my palms this morning.

The leaves so green,

so very, very green.

It had rained for days on end,

the clouds never giving way

for the sun to poke through the white pillows.

But today–in their honor–the sun

shines on my palms

this morning.

Watching the Parade © Eliot J. Grigo

Watching the Parade © Eliot J. Grigo

I had missed the majority of the parade this morning, so I shot some street stuff of what I could during and afterwards, I hope you enjoy your Memorial Day! All images © Eliot J. Grigo.

Leave a Reply

